Changes to ESPN NFL broadcast teams.


The upcoming NFL season will feature some changes to the ESPN NFL broadcast team. Earlier this year, the cable net announced that Ron Jaworski would replace Joe Theismann in the Monday Night Football booth.

Today, other changes were announced, including the additions of Keyshawn Johnson and Emmitt Smith to the Sunday NFL Countdown cast. Johnson and Smith will be joined by mainstays Chris Berman, Tom Jackson and Chris Mortensen. Smith and Johnson will also be part of the new Monday Night Countdown cast, which also includes Bill Parcells — on his second tour of duty with ESPN.

On Monday Night Countdown, as well as on the SportsCenter preceding it, Smith will be joined by Steve Young and Stuart Scott from the site of the week’s Monday Night Football telecast. Chris Berman will co-host the show from Bristol, with Jackson, Johnson, Parcells, Mortensen and Mike Ditka. In all, Monday Night Countdown will feature two hosts and seven analysts from two different sites.

In addition to the changes made on the two primary ESPN studio shows, supplemental NFL studio programs will also see some changes; Trey Wingo gets promoted to the hosting gig on NFL Primetime, which moves from 6:00 PM on Mondays to 4:00 PM. He will be joined by Ditka, Merril Hoge and Mark Schlereth. Wingo will also host the preceding NFL Live telecast from 3:30 PM to 4:00 PM with Hoge and Schlereth.

Listing of 2007 ESPN NFL analysts:

  • Eric Allen (analyst, NFL Live)
  • Chris Berman (host, Sunday NFL Countdown, Monday Night Countdown)
  • Mike Ditka (analyst, NFL Primetime, Monday Night Countdown)
  • Mike Golic (analyst, NFL Live)
  • James Hasty (analyst, NFL Live)
  • Merrill Hoge (analyst, NFL Live and NFL Primetime)
  • Tom Jackson (analyst, Sunday NFL Countdown, Monday Night Countdown)
  • Ron Jaworski (analyst, Monday Night Football)
  • Keyshawn Johnson (analyst, Sunday NFL Countdown, Monday Night Countdown)
  • Suzy Kolber (sideline reporter, Monday Night Football)
  • Tony Kornheiser (commentator, Monday Night Football)
  • Chris Mortensen (reporter, Sunday NFL Countdown, Monday Night Countdown)
  • Bill Parcells (analyst, Monday Night Countdown)
  • Floyd Reese (analyst, NFL Live)
  • Sean Salisbury (analyst, NFL Live)
  • Mark Schlereth (analyst, NFL Live and NFL Primetime)
  • Stuart Scott (host, Monday Night Countdown)
  • Emmitt Smith (analyst, Sunday NFL Countdown and Monday Night Countdown)
  • Michele Tafoya (sideline reporter, Monday Night Football)
  • Mike Tirico (play-by-play, Monday Night Football)
  • Stan Verrett (host, Football Friday)
  • Trey Wingo (host, NFL Live and NFL Primetime)
  • Darren Woodson (analyst, NFL Live)
  • Steve Young (analyst, Monday Night Countdown)
  • frostdude1

    Hey Paul

    Just wanted to say I found out about your blog about a week ago or so and its easily the best one and gives me the best info in the business side of sports !!!

    Keep up the great work

  • Anonymous

    What happened to Salisbury, was he demoted or did his responsibilities stay the same?

  • Anonymous

    WHat happened to Michael Irvin? Why is he no longer apart of the show? I think you need to get back to having Him along side with Steve Young Chris Berman and Tom Jackson ever since Young was no longer a big part of the sunday morning show it just hasn’t been the same and now with Irvin gone it seems like Im gonna be losing even more interest and its a Shame cuz I loved watching those guys before sunday kickoff Mike Ditka was a good addition though

  • Anonymous

    Can anyone tell me what what happened to Sunday night primetime on ESPN?