Halftime: Top 50 Sporting Events on Broadcast and Cable in 2010

Posted by | July 14, 2010 at 11:39 PM

With 2010 now more than halfway over, here is a look at the top 50 sporting events on both broadcast and cable this year.

The NFL and Olympic games dominated broadcast during the first half of 2010, taking up 20 of the first 22 spots. The only non-NFL, non-Olympic events to make the top 20 were the BCS National Championship Game (#9) and Game 7 of the NBA Finals (#12).

The 2010 MLB All-Star Game (12.118 mil) did not make the top 50.

Of the top 50 sporting events on cable, 32 were NBA games — led by 9.948 million viewers for The Decision on July 8. The NFL’s Pro Bowl stands as the top sporting event of the year thus far on cable, with 12.297 million viewers.

The combined audiences for three World Cup matches on ABC/Univision are now included on the list of top 50 sporting events on broadcast. However, the combined audiences for World Cup matches on ESPN and Univision are not included on the top 50 events on cable, since Univision is a broadcast network.

50 Most-Viewed Sporting Events on Broadcast (January 1-July 13)
























































#
Date
Sport Game/Event Net Rating
Viewers
1
Sun., 2/7/10 NFL Super Bowl XLIV: Saints/Colts CBS
45.0
106,480
2
Sun., 1/24/10 NFL NFC Championship: Vikings/Saints FOX
30.6
57,933
3
Sun., 1/24/10 NFL AFC Championship: Jets/Colts CBS
26.3
46,917
4
Sun., 1/17/10 NFL NFC Divisional: Cowboys/Vikings FOX
22.0
37,669
5
Sun., 1/17/10 NFL AFC Divisional: Jets/Chargers CBS
20.1
35,627
6
Sun., 1/10/10 NFL NFC Wild Card: Packers/Cardinals FOX
19.6
34,406
7
Fri., 2/12/10 Oly Olympic Opening Ceremony NBC
17.3
32,641
8
Sat., 1/9/10 NFL NFC Wild Card: Eagles/Cowboys NBC
18.0
32,124
9
Thu., 1/7/10 BCS National Championship Game: Alabama/Texas ABC
17.2
30,776
10
Sat., 1/16/10 NFL AFC Divisional: Ravens/Colts CBS
17.0
30,569
11
Wed., 2/17/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
16.7
29,416
12
Thu., 6/17/10 NBA Finals: Celtics/Lakers Game 7 ABC
15.6
28,203
13
Sat., 1/16/10 NFL NFC Divisional: Cardinals/Saints FOX
16.1
27,910
14
Sun., 1/10/10 NFL AFC Wild Card: Ravens/Patriots CBS
16.9
27,413
15
Sat., 2/20/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
14.7
26,668
16
Sun., 1/3/10 NFL Reg. Season: Eagles/Cowboys (or other regional action) FOX
15.2
26,453
17
Sun., 2/14/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
14.3
26,372
18
Sat., 2/13/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
14.0
26,189
19
Mon., 2/15/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
14.2
25,224
20
Sat., 1/9/10 NFL AFC Wild Card: Jets/Bengals NBC
15.2
25,048
21
Thu., 2/18/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
14.5
24,782
22
Fri., 2/26/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
13.9
24,522
23
Sun., 7/11/10 World Cup Spain/Netherlands, match portion ABC
8.1
24,300
Univ.
24
Fri., 1/1/10 BCS Rose Bowl: Ohio St./Oregon ABC
13.2
24,025
25
Mon., 4/5/10 NCAA BB National Championship Game: Duke/Butler CBS
14.2
23,994
26
Fri., 2/19/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
13.4
23,304
27
Sun., 2/21/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
13.2
23,294
28
Thu., 2/25/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
13.6
22,920
29
Sun., 2/28/10 Oly Olympic Closing Ceremony NBC
12.1
21,403
30
Tue., 2/23/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
12.6
21,279
31
Mon., 2/22/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
12.5
20,926
32
Sat., 2/27/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
11.7
20,630
33
Tue., 2/16/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
12.2
20,330
34
Wed., 2/24/10 Oly Primetime Winter Olympics NBC
11.9
19,808
35
Sat., 6/26/10 World Cup Ghana/United States, match portion ABC
8.5
19,400
Univ.
36
Sun., 1/3/10 NFL Reg. Season: Steelers/Dolphins (or other regional action) CBS
11.2
18,844
37
Sun., 6/13/10 NBA Finals: Lakers/Celtics Game 5 ABC
10.8
18,654
38
Sun., 2/28/10 Oly Afternoon Winter Olympics (includes USA/Canada Men’s Hockey Gold Medal Game, which drew 27.6 million) NBC
10.4
18,313
39
Tue., 6/15/10 NBA Finals: Celtics/Lakers Game 6 ABC
10.4
17,960
40
Sat., 6/12/10 World Cup United States/England, match portion ABC
7.4
17,100
Univ.
41
Sun., 4/11/10 Golf (M) The Masters, Final Round CBS
10.7
16,676
42
Sat., 5/1/10 Horse Racing Kentucky Derby, race portion NBC
9.8
16,540
43
Thu., 6/10/10 NBA Finals: Lakers/Celtics Game 4 ABC
9.9
16,371
44
Sun., 1/3/10 NFL Reg. Season: Jets/Bengals NBC
10.0
16,333
45
Tue., 6/8/10 NBA Finals: Lakers/Celtics Game 3 ABC
9.6
15,959
46
Sat., 4/3/10 NCAA BB Final Four: Duke/West Virginia CBS
9.2
15,823
47
Sun., 6/6/10 NBA Finals: Celtics/Lakers Game 2 ABC
9.2
15,718
48
Sun., 1/3/10 NFL Reg. Season: Giants/Vikings (or other regional action) NFL
9.6
15,617
49
Fri., 1/1/10 BCS Sugar Bowl: Florida/Cincinnati FOX
8.5
15,533
50
Sat., 4/3/10 NCAA BB Final Four: Butler/Michigan St. CBS
8.6
14,460

50 Most-Viewed Sporting Events on Cable (January 1-July 13)




















































#
Date
Sport Game/Event Net Rating
Viewers
1
Sun., 1/31/10 NFL Pro Bowl ESPN
7.1
12,297
2
Thu., 7/8/10 NBA The Decision ESPN
6.1
9,948
3
Thu., 5/13/10 NBA Second Round: Cavaliers/Celtics Game 6 ESPN
5.7
8,983
4
Thu., 5/27/10 NBA West Finals: Suns/Lakers Game 5 TNT
5.3
8,670
5
Sun., 5/23/10 NBA West Finals: Lakers/Suns Game 3 TNT
5.0
8,460
6
Sun., 2/21/10 Oly Men’s Hockey: United States/Canada MSNBC
4.3
8,221
7
Sat., 5/29/10 NBA West Finals: Lakers/Suns Game 6 TNT
4.8
8,154
8
Mon., 5/24/10 NBA East Finals: Magic/Celtics Game 4 ESPN
4.9
7,960
9
Sat., 1/2/10 NCAA FB Alamo Bowl: Michigan St/Texas Tech ESPN
4.8
7,829
10
Tue., 5/25/10 NBA West Finals: Lakers/Suns Game 4 TNT
4.9
7,641
11
Fri., 5/28/10 NBA East Finals: Magic/Celtics Game 6 ESPN
4.6
7,538
12
Thu., 4/22/10 NFL NFL Draft: Round 1 ESPN
4.6
7,290
13
Tue., 5/18/10 NBA East Finals: Celtics/Magic Game 2 ESPN
4.6
7,156
14
Mon., 5/17/10 NBA West Finals: Suns/Lakers Game 1 TNT
4.4
7,112
15
Wed., 5/19/10 NBA West Finals: Suns/Lakers Game 2 TNT
4.4
7,004
16
Sun., 2/14/10 NBA NBA All-Star Game TNT
3.8
6,846
17
Wed., 5/26/10 NBA East Finals: Celtics/Magic Game 5 ESPN
4.4
6,835
18
Tue., 5/11/10 NBA Second Round: Celtics/Cavaliers Game 5 TNT
4.2
6,737
19
Sat., 1/2/10 NCAA FB Liberty Bowl: Arkansas/ECU ESPN
3.8
6,449
20
Mon., 7/13/10 MLB Home Run Derby ESPN
4.0
6,418
21
Wed., 6/23/10 World Cup United States/Algeria, match portion (also aired on broadcast net Univision) ESPN
4.0
6,161
22
Sat., 7/3/10 NASCAR Coke Zero 400 TNT
3.6
6,127
23
Sat., 5/22/10 NBA East Finals: Magic/Celtics Game 3 ESPN
3.7
6,022
24
Sat., 5/1/10 NBA Second Round: Celtics/Cavaliers Game 1 TNT
3.4
5,705
25
Fri., 1/1/10 NCAA FB Outback Bowl: Auburn/Northwestern ESPN
3.5
5,685
26
Mon., 5/3/10 NBA Second Round: Celtics/Cavaliers Game 2 TNT
3.5
5,499
27
Sat., 2/13/10 NBA NBA All-Star Saturday Night TNT
3.1
5,441
28
Fri., 6/18/10 World Cup United States/Slovenia, match portion (also aired on broadcast net Univision) ESPN
3.4
5,200
29
Sun., 6/6/10 NASCAR Gillette Fusion ProGlide 500 TNT
3.1
5,097
30
Mon., 5/10/10 NBA Second Round: Lakers/Jazz Game 4 TNT
3.2
5,079
31
Thu., 4/8/10 Golf (M) The Masters: First Round ESPN
3.4
4,936
32
Sun., 6/27/10 NASCAR Lenox Industrial Tools 301 TNT
3.0
4,909
33
Fri., 4/30/10 NBA First Round: Lakers/Thunder Game 6 ESPN
3.1
4,833
34
Tue., 4/27/10 NBA First Round: Thunder/Lakers Game 5 TNT
3.1
4,685
35
Tue., 5/4/10 NBA Second Round: Jazz/Lakers Game 2 TNT
3.0
4,668
36
Sat., 7/10/10 NASCAR Lifelock.com 400 TNT
2.8
4,608
37
Sun., 5/9/10 NBA Second Round: Suns/Spurs Game 4 TNT
2.8
4,577
38
Sun., 6/20/10 NASCAR Toyota/Save Mart 350 TNT
2.7
4,479
39
Sun., 6/13/10 NASCAR Heluva Good! Sour Cream Dips 400 TNT
2.9
4,333
40
Sun., 6/27/10 World Cup Germany/England, match portion (also aired on broadcast net Univision) ESPN
2.7
4,311
41
Sat., 2/13/10 NASCAR NNS Drive4COPD300 ESPN2
2.8
4,271
42
Fri., 5/7/10 NBA Second Round: Suns/Spurs Game 3 TNT
2.7
4,267
43
Tue., 4/27/10 NBA First Round: Bulls/Cavaliers Game 5 TNT
2.8
4,244
44
Sat., 4/24/10 NBA First Round: Lakers/Thunder Game 4 ESPN
2.7
4,163
45
Mon., 5/3/10 NBA Second Round: Spurs/Suns Game 1 TNT
2.7
4,110
46
Wed., 5/5/10 NBA Second Round: Spurs/Suns Game 2 TNT
2.7
3,999
47
Thu., 1/21/10 NBA Reg. Season: Lakers/Cavaliers TNT
2.5
3,946
48
Sun., 4/18/10 NBA First Round: Spurs/Mavericks Game 1 TNT
2.5
3,925
49
Mon., 4/19/10 NBA First Round: Bulls/Cavaliers Game 2 TNT
2.6
3,907
50
Sat., 4/17/10 NBA First Round: Heat/Celtics Game 1 ESPN
2.5
3,821