Ratings Up 22% For Final of Grand Prix of Figure Skating

Posted by | December 18, 2010 at 11:17 PM

The 2010 ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating ended on a positive note for NBC last week.

Taped coverage of the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final drew a 1.1 final rating and 1.549 million viewers on NBC, up 22% in ratings and 14% in viewership compared to last year (0.9, 1.356 mil).

The telecast stands as NBC’s second-highest rated, second-most viewed Grand Prix of Figure Skating telecast over the past two years (12 telecasts), surpassed only by coverage of Skate America on November 14 (1.2, 1.746 mil).

Sunday’s telecast was the #2 top non-football sporting event of the weekend on broadcast, surpassing college basketball on CBS and golf on NBC. Only the Pokerstars.net Million Dollar Challenge on FOX, which had a lead-in from NFL action, did better (1.5, 2.263 mil).

Ratings/Viewership For ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating on NBC in 2009 and 2010
















Date Event Net Rating Viewers (000)
2009
Sun., 10/18/09 Trophee Eric Bompard NBC
0.7
874
Sun., 10/25/09 Rostelecom Cup NBC
0.8
1,036
Sun., 11/8/09 NHK Trophy NBC
0.7
1,029
Sun., 11/15/09 Skate America NBC
0.9
n/a
Sun., 11/22/09 Skate Canada NBC
0.6
916
Sun., 12/6/09 Grand Prix Final NBC
0.9
1,356
2010
Sun., 10/31/10 NHK Trophy NBC
0.8
1,157
Sat., 11/6/10 Skate Canada NBC
1.0
1,496
Sun., 11/14/10 Skate America NBC
1.2
1,746
Sun., 11/21/10 Cup of Russia NBC
0.7
993
Sun., 11/28/10 Trophee Eric Bompard NBC
0.7
972
Sun., 12/12/10 Grand Prix Final NBC
1.1
1,549