NBA Finals to Start May 31, Earliest Start Since ’86

Posted by | May 26, 2011 at 11:46 PM

With both the Eastern and Western Conference Finals concluding in five games, the start of the NBA Finals has been moved up to May 31.

Game 1 between the Mavericks and Heat will take place on Tuesday, May 31, instead of the original date of Thursday, June 2. This is the first time the NBA Finals has been moved up from its original start date since 1997, when Jazz/Bulls began on Sunday, June 1, instead of Wednesday, June 4.

In addition, this is the first time the NBA Finals has started in the month of May since 1986, when Rockets/Celtics Game 1 aired on Monday, May 26.

Games 2, 3 and 4 will air Thursday, June 2, Sunday, June 5 and Tuesday, June 7. If necessary, Games 5, 6 and 7 would air Thursday, June 9, Sunday, June 12 and Tuesday, June 14.

Of note, the NBA Finals will start before the Stanley Cup Final, which begins June 1. Keep in mind the Stanley Cup Playoffs began three days before the NBA Playoffs.

  • JakeFrankie

    It’s going to be a great NBA finals, I got Miami winning in 6 games Lebron James MVP. 

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_I7JAVRSZTPQ7M2F3CXUC5STLJ4 Drew. S

    Yeah the NBA got some flack for the huge gap in the Chicago/Miami Heat series because they were trying to allow the OKC/Dallas series to catch up because of the previous game 7 in the Memphis/OKC semi final. I think they could of waited until Thursday this time since it is the championship round but i think the ratings will be good. Lebron James and Dallas is a huge market. It should do well.