FOX Opens Second Half of MLB Season With Big Increase

Posted by | July 22, 2011 at 8:59 PM

After the lowest rated MLB All-Star Game in history, FOX opened the second half of the Major League Baseball season with a substantial increase for Saturday’s regional action.

Regional MLB action featuring Red Sox/Rays earned a 1.9 final rating and 2.784 million viewers on FOX Saturday, up 36% in ratings and 27% in viewership from the network’s sixteenth telecast last year (NYM/LAD*: 1.4, 2.193M), and flat in ratings and down 3% in viewership compared to 2009 (STL/PHI*: 1.9, 2.862M).

This marks the seventh time this season FOX has had a double-digit increase in ratings and viewership for Major League Baseball coverage.

Despite the increase, Saturday’s telecast was the tenth of the season on FOX to attract fewer than 2% of U.S. TV homes. Overall, 61 of the past 100 regular season MLB telecasts on FOX (dates back to August 25, 2007) have drawn less than a 2.0 rating.

Ratings/Viewership For MLB on FOX This Season

Date
Time
Game(s)
% of U.S.
Net
Rating
vs. ’10
Viewers (000)
vs. ’10
Sat., 4/2/11 4:00 PM DET 6, NYY 10
59%
FOX
2.0
25%
3,157
31%
SF 10, LAD 0
20%
SD 11, STL 3
20%
Sat., 4/9/11 1:00 PM NYY 9, BOS 4
84%
FOX
2.6
8%
3,891
5%
PHI 10, ATL 2
15%
Sat., 4/16/11 4:00 PM NYM 2, ATL 4
45%
FOX
1.5
-6%
2,292
-2%
LAA 7, CHW 2
35%
MIN 3, TB 4
19%
Sat., 4/23/11 4:00 PM ATL 5, SF 2
69%
FOX
1.8
29%
2,794
39%
CIN 5, STL 3
19%
CHW 0, DET 9
11%
Sat., 4/30/11 1:00 PM STL 3, ATL 2
52%
FOX
1.4
-44%
2,101
-43%
LAA 1, TB 2
25%
NYM 1, PHI 2
22%
Sat., 5/7/11 1:00 PM MIN 0, BOS 4
48%
FOX
1.4
even
2,136
3%
CIN 2, CHC 3
44%
TB 8, BAL 2
7%
Sat., 5/14/11 7:00 PM BOS 6, NYY 0
71%
FOX
2.6
-4%
4,103
-5%
SF 3, CHC 0
20%
ARI 1, LAD 0
8%
Sat., 5/21/11 7:00 PM NYM 3, NYY 7
36%
FOX
2.8
65%
4,551
82%
CHC 9, BOS 3
32%
TEX 0, PHI 2
19%
OAK 0, SF 3
12%
Sat., 5/28/11 7:00 PM STL 4, COL 15
24%
FOX
2.4
71%
3,799
79%
CIN 6, ATL 7
19%
BOS/DET (PPD)
17%
PHI 5, NYM 2
16%
KC 1, TEX 10
14%
LAA 0, MIN 1
9%
Sat., 6/4/11 4:00 PM CHC 4, STL 5
72%
FOX
1.6
-6%
2,433
-13%
COL 2, SF 1
15%
LAD 11, CIN 8
12%
Sat., 6/11/11 4:00 PM CHC 1, PHI 7
59%
FOX
1.4
-7%
2,195
-3%
CIN 10, SF 2
24%
TEX 1, MIN 8
16%
Sat., 6/18/11 4:00 PM NYY 4, CHC 3
74%
FOX
1.7
-23%
2,590
-25%
TEX 5, ATL 4
23%
Sat., 6/25/11 4:00 PM NYM 14, TEX 5
50%
FOX
1.4
-7%
2,160
-5%
CLE 0, SF 1
31%
WSH 0, CHW 3
12%
LAA 6, LAD 1
6%
Sat., 7/2/11 4:00 PM NYY 5, NYM 2
79%
FOX
2.0
-5%
3,018
-2%
CHW 1, CHC 0
10%
CLE 3, CIN 1
10%
Sat., 7/9/11 4:00 PM ATL 4, PHI 1
76%
FOX
1.9
6%
2,863
even
MIN 3, CHW 4
16%
SD 0, LAD 1
7%
Sat., 7/16/11 4:00 PM BOS 9, TB 5
41%
FOX
1.9
36%
2,784
27%
PHI 2, NYM 11
25%
LAA 4, OAK 2
18%
CHW 5, DET 0
15%

(This week’s numbers from Sports Business Daily)