Week 2 Wrap: NBC’s Eagles/Falcons Game Up Slightly

0

Ratings and viewership increased for the second edition of Sunday Night Football on NBC.

NBC earned a 14.3 final rating and 23.424 million viewers for Sunday’s Eagles/Falcons game, up 4% in ratings and 1% in viewership from last year (NYG/IND: 13.8, 23.100M), but down 5% and 6%, respectively, from 2009 (NYG/DAL: 15.1, 24.817M).

Last year’s game featured Peyton Manning playing against brother Eli Manning. The 2009 game was the debut of the much-hyped new Cowboys Stadium.

Sunday’s game ranks as the tenth-most viewed NFL regular season telecast on NBC since the network resumed airing games in 2006. Nine of the ten games have taken place in the last two seasons alone.

Among adults 18-49, Sunday’s game earned a 10.0 rating — up 8% from last year (9.2).

For the week, Eagles/Falcons ranked as the highest rated, most-viewed program of the week on broadcast, and the top program in the key adults 18-49 demographic.

Ten Most-Viewed Sunday Night Football Games on NBC
Since the network resumed airing NFL games in the 2006-07 season

#
Date
Game
Net
Rating
Viewers (000)
1
Thu., 9/9/10 MIN 9, NO 14 NBC
16.5
27,485
2
Thu., 9/8/11 NO 34, GB 42 NBC
16.0
27,169
3
Sun., 9/11/11 DAL 24, NYJ 27 NBC
15.3
25,766
4
Sun., 12/12/10 PHI 30, DAL 27 NBC
15.2
25,728
5
Sun., 10/24/10 MIN 24, GB 20 NBC
15.4
25,675
6
Sun., 9/12/10 DAL 7, WSH 13 NBC
15.0
25,262
7
Sun., 9/20/09 NYG 33, DAL 31 NBC
15.1
24,817
8
Sun., 12/19/10 GB 27, NE 31 NBC
14.0
24,166
9
Tue., 12/28/10 MIN 24, PHI 14 NBC
13.8
23,736
10
Sun., 9/18/10 PHI 31, ATL 35 NBC
14.3
23,424

(This week’s numbers from NBC Sports Group press release via Fang’s Bites; TV By the Numbers)

Share.