Week 7 Wrap: “Thursday Night Football” Strong Despite Baseball Competition

Posted by | October 24, 2012 at 9:10 PM

NFL Network turned in an impressive performance for “Thursday Night Football” last week.

The Week 7 Seahawks/49ers “Thursday Night Football” game drew a 4.4 U.S. rating and 7.023 million viewers on NFL Network last week. The game ranks as the ninth-most viewed NFL telecast ever on NFL Network.

Four of the ten most-viewed games have aired this season alone.

Last week’s game drew more viewers head-to-head than Game 4 of the National League Championship Series on broadcast network FOX (6.0M). Keep in mind NFL Network is in over 40 million fewer homes than the FOX network.

So far this season, NFL Network has averaged a 4.6 U.S. rating and 7.1 million viewers for NFL coverage (six telecasts). The network is on pace to easily surpass last season’s record-high average of 6.2 million viewers.

10 Most-Viewed NFL Games on NFL Network

#
Date
Away
Home
Net
Rating
Viewers (000)
1
Thu., 11/24/11 Niners Ravens NFL Network
5.3
10,681
2
Sat., 12/19/09 Cowboys Saints NFL Network
5.7
10,497
3
Thu., 11/29/07 Packers Cowboys NFL Network
5.4
10,054
4 Thu., 9/13/12 Bears Packers NFL Network
5.3
8,559
5 Thu., 9/27/12 Ravens Browns NFL Network
5.2
8,053
6
Sat., 12/25/10 Cowboys Cardinals NFL Network
3.8
7,843
7 Thu., 11/25/10 Bengals Jets NFL Network
3.4
7,106
8 Thu., 11/17/11 Jets Broncos NFL Network
4.3
7,050
9 Thu., 10/18/12 Seahawks Niners NFL Network
4.4
7,023
10 Thu., 9/20/12 Giants Panthers NFL Network
4.3
6,993

(Last Thursday’s numbers from Bloomberg, NFL Communications)

  • AD

    Any interest in evaluating ESPN’s Thursday football audience compared to last year as a result of this new NFL package?