NFL Wrap: FOX Suffers Slight Drop, But Has Third-Most Watched Season

0

Despite hitting a three-year low, FOX earned strong numbers for NFL coverage during the 2012 regular season.

Twenty-seven regular season NFL telecasts averaged an 11.8 rating and 19.7 million viewers on FOX, down 2% in ratings and viewership from last year (12.0, 20.1M), and even in ratings and down 2% in viewership from 2010 (11.8, 20.1M).

The 2012 regular season is tied as the second-highest rated on FOX since 1995, and ranks as the third-most viewed ever on the network. The past four seasons have been the most-viewed ever on FOX.

FOX will more than likely finish as the second-highest rated and second-most viewed NFL broadcaster during the 2012 campaign, behind only NBC (12.8, 21.4M). Averages for the NFL on CBS were not immediately available, but CBS typically ranks behind FOX and NBC for NFL coverage. The 2012 regular season was the third straight in which FOX ranked behind NBC.

Though FOX was not the top NFL broadcaster this season, the network televised six of the ten most-viewed games. The Washington/Dallas Thanksgiving Day game earned the network’s largest audience (28.7M) and the second-best audience of the season on any network.

Ratings/Viewership For NFL National Telecasts on FOX
2012 regular season

WK #
Date
Featured Game
Net
Rating
Viewers
Away
Home
1 Sun., 9/9/12 Niners Packers FOX
15.4
26.4M
4 Sun., 9/30/12 Saints Packers FOX
13.4
22.3M
6 Sun., 10/14/12 Giants Niners FOX
13.7
22.8M
8 Sun., 10/28/12 Giants Cowboys FOX
16.0
26.9M
10 Sun., 11/11/12 Cowboys Eagles FOX
14.7
24.3M
12 Thu., 11/22/12 Washington Cowboys FOX
13.5
28.7M
Sun., 11/25/12 Niners Saints FOX
15.0
24.9M
14 Sun., 12/9/12 Saints Giants FOX
14.8
24.5M
16 Sun., 12/23/12 Giants Ravens FOX
14.2
24.2M
17 Sun., 12/30/12 Packers Vikings FOX
15.3
26.4M

(Season averages from Fox Sports Media Group press release via TV By the Numbers)

Share.