Thunder/Lakers Earns ABC’s Third-Best Non-Christmas Rating

0

The NBA on ABC returned with strong numbers last week.

Sunday’s Thunder/Lakers NBA regular season game earned a 3.9 final rating and 6.3 million viewers on ABC, up 11% in ratings and viewership from Bulls/Heat last year (3.5, 5.7M), but down 9% and 10%, respectively, from Celtics/Lakers in 2011 (4.3, 7.0M).

Excluding Christmas Day games, the 3.9 final rating is the third-highest for a regular season NBA telecast on ABC since the network resumed airing games in the 2002-03 season.

Earlier in the day, Heat/Celtics drew a 3.0 and 4.618 million viewers — up 20% in ratings and 22% in viewership from Heat/Thunder in 2011 (2.5, 3.8M). There was no comparable telecast last year.

10 Highest Rated NBA Regular Season Games on ABC
Excluding Christmas Day games

#
Date
Away
Home
Net
Rating
Viewers (000)
T1 Sun., 1/30/11 Celtics Lakers ABC
4.3
7.0M
T1 Sun., 3/4/12 Heat Lakers ABC
4.3
7.0M
3 Sun., 1/27/13 Thunder Lakers ABC
3.9
6.3M
T4 Sun., 2/8/09 Lakers Cavaliers ABC
3.8
6.1M
T4 Sun., 2/19/12 Mavericks Knicks ABC
3.8
5.9M
T6 Sun., 1/29/12 Bulls Heat ABC
3.5
5.7M
T6 Sun., 1/31/10 Lakers Celtics ABC
3.5
5.7M
T6 Sun., 2/13/11 Lakers Magic ABC
3.5
5.6M
T6 Sun., 4/4/04 Spurs Lakers ABC
3.5
5.1M
T6 Sun., 3/16/03 Spurs Kings ABC
3.5
4.7M

(Sunday’s numbers from ESPN)

Share.